2nd of March, 2013 — Workout — Wall Handstand, Tuck L-Sit, Frog Stands, Tuck Back / Front Lever, Elevated OAPU, L-Sit Pullups, Squats, Dead Lifts & Walking Lunges

Hey o Convicts!!!

Hows your workouts been treating you this week? I’m so pumped to be on my new Overcoming Gravity routine, and boy is it kicking my ass – especially those Front & Back Lever progressions. I’ve never tried anything like that before, and its new and exciting being inverted for a workout. I cant wait for the damn’d snow to go away though so I’ll be able to get the rings ( Found HERE ) up out on the trees for a better range of motion. As I had written in the post below the Lever’s, I would appreciate some feedback on my form for them. I feel the Pullup bar that I currently use hinders my ROM a bit with them.

As always, STAY STRONG!

-B

Warmup:

  • 15 Forward / Reverse Wrist Circles ( Left )
  • 15 Forward / Reverse Wrist Circles ( Right )
  • 20 Shoulder Dislocates
  • 1 Minute Straight Arm Support
  • 10 Forward / Reverse Arm Circles ( Small, Medium & Large )
  • 20 Burpees

Skill Work:

With these first two sets I’m working on getting the balance down – Trying to get my feet to stay off the wall and hold a true Freestanding Handstand. So far I’m able to accomplish a few seconds each time, but I know that as long as the times keep increasing the easier it’ll become. I was able to get it balanced for ~ three seconds the second set so there’s some sort of progress! The third set is just trying to max out the hold.

Eh, got a little antsy with the duration hold. I wanted it to be balanced so bad so I fell! Ah well.

  • 25s Wall Handstand
  • 25s Wall Handstand
  • 45s Wall Handstand
  • 18s Tuck L-Sit ( Hands Sideways, between two chairs )
  • 15s Tuck L-Sit ( Hands Sideways, between two chairs )

___________________________________________________________________________________

Planche Progression: Frog Stand & Tuck Planche

Decided today to try to move onto the next step as these Frog Stands aren’t too challenging. Going to do two sets of them, and use the third set for the Tuck Planche. Let’s see how long I can hold it!

Ha, not long, but it’s a start. Leaves lots of room for improvement and progress.

Set 1: Frog Stand

  • 40s Frog Stand

Set 2:

  • 20s Frog Stand

Set 3: Tuck Planche

  • 1.5s Tuck Planche

________________________________________________________________________________

Lever Progression’s: Tuck Back Lever & Tuck Front Lever

Hey guys, I’m going to upload a video of my form. It doesn’t seem like I’m doing 100% correct based on the description and my limitation for room at the moment. It will become much better once the winter is finally done and I can go out and put rings up out in the trees!

But, let me know what I can do to improve on my form for these, it would be greatly appreciated.

Set 1: Tuck Back Lever

  • 4s Tuck Back Lever

Set 2:

  • 4s Tuck Back Lever

Set 3:

  • 5s Tuck Back Lever

Set 1: Tuck Front Lever

  • 5s Tuck Front Lever

Set 2:

  • 4s Tuck Front Lever

Set 3:

  • 3s Tuck Front Lever

____________________________________________________________________________

One-Arm Pushup Progression: Elevated OAPU

Damn after those Tuck Levers and Tuck Planches, my shoulders are beat to hell. I’m going to enjoy the next two days off! I lied, I wont enjoy it, but my body will be super happy about being able to recover so nicely.

Set 1:

  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Left )
  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Left )
  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Left )
  • 8 Elevated OAPU’s ( Right )

_____________________________________________________________________________

One-Arm Chinup Progression: L-Sit Pullups

I had a four minute rest time between each set, I think that’s why I was able to complete six reps for each set. My abs were burning on that last set though

Set 1: L-Sit Pullup

  • 6 L-Sit Pullups

Set 2:

  • 6 L-Sit Pullups

Set 3:

  • 6 L-Sit Pullups

_______________________________________________________________________

Sandbag Leg Training: Squats, Dead Lifts & Walking Lunges

Per my last post, all sandbag training is done using the Brute Force Sandbags, with 70lbs in them. I love this little Sandbag. I can’t wait for it to be nicer out so I can incorporate the Sandbag in with my running.

Set 1: Squats

  • 10 Full Squats

Set 2: Dead Lifts

  • 10 Dead Lifts

Set 3: Walking Lunges

  • 10 Walking Lunges ( Left )
  • 10 Walking Lunges ( Right )
Leave a Reply

