2nd of January, 2013 — Workout — Bulgarian Split Squats, Side Lunges, Toyota’s & One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! Had a bit too much fun and needed yesterday for a bit of recovery. I trust you were all safe and are now chomping at the bit to get your sweat on right?! I know I’ve been waiting all day to get home for this. Although, I’m not the biggest fan of Leg days, its still super important – so NO SLACKING

-B

Bulgarian Split Squats: ( Three second pause at the bottom )

I wanted to kind of take it easy on the first set, I wasn’t sure how my knee’s would do – I also had a bit of a ‘equipment’ issue while doing the first set on the left side. Probably could’ve gone for a few more reps but I ran out of time!

Was able to crank out 12 for the second set so things are going smoothly now. I’ll tell you what though, I’m glad its the ending of the second week of these. I dont like working out each routine once a week. Have to get things laid out for the next couple weeks sometime before the end of this week.

Set 1:

  • 8 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Left )
  • 8 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 12 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Left )
  • 12 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 12 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Left )
  • 12 Bulgarian Split Squats ( Right )

__________________________________________________________________

Side Lunges: ( Four second pause at the bottom )

Not a fan of these! They’re definitely giving my legs a nice stretch / beating. Have to keep going though, need to keep my knee’s strengthened. I didnt take good enough care of them when I was younger. The quads are on FIRE! Toyota’s are going to put the hurtin on!

Set 1:

  • 12 Side Lunges ( Left )
  • 12 Side Lunges ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 12 Side Lunges ( Left )
  • 12 Side Lunges ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 10 Side Lunges ( Left )
  • 10 Side Lunges ( Right )

___________________________________________________________________

Toyota’s: ( Four second pause at the bottom )

My legs are already shaky standing here typing this while the timer from the last set of Side Lunges counts down – Can’t wait to start jumping around!

OK – that first set, in my head, I was telling myself  ‘You can get to 12 no problem’. The mind is strong and willing, but the body let me down this time. Better to maintain the proper form than do even one rep incorrectly. That’s how you can seriously injure yourself! I’m still focused, and mentally strong, lets see if I can overcome the physical limitations with one of these sets!

Well, no dice today, but thats OK – I’m going to use it to fuel my motivation. I can’t stand not being able to accomplish something, but I understand the importance of knowing my limits. NO WAY I want to get injured, because that will certainly delay my progress exponentially. Hot damn my things are so tight right now though – feels good!

Set 1:

  • 10 Toyota’s

Set 2:

  • 9 Toyota’s

Set 3:

  • 7 Toyota’s

________________________________________________________________________________________

One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts:

FINALLY! I love doing these bad boys. Something about the balance aspect of it, and the fact that my legs are shot, and these seem to be a bit easier on them. Combo of both I’m thinking 🙂 It’s funny, it was pretty cold in my apartment when I got home after work today, and I started my workout with sweats on. Now that I’m down to this last workout, I’m down to my preferred workout attire of just my boxers. I’m still sweating uncontrollably too! Sometimes I hate how efficient my circulation and body is – The girlfriend loves it though!

When I’m doing these, I try to focus on not letting my lifting leg touch the ground on the way back down. Makes it much more ‘fun’. Not only that, but it also engages my Calves much more. Usually around the tenth rep they’re burning real nice. Nothing going to argue with any extra work for those little stabilizing muscles.

Set 1:

  • 12 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Left )
  • 12 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 12 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Left )
  • 12 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 10 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Left )
  • 10 One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts ( Right )
5 thoughts on “2nd of January, 2013 — Workout — Bulgarian Split Squats, Side Lunges, Toyota’s & One-Leg Romanian Dead Lifts

  1. I read one of your post where you said doing pullups once a week is stalling your progress. Sometimes when you work the same muscles too often you do not see progress in your reps even though your fitness is improving. sometimes upping volume can make a difference but it works for only so long. just like when you do a low volume program it works for so long then you need to up the volume. bottom line is if your progress has stalled you have two options pull back or push harder if one does not work try the other.

    • Hey Joshua,

      You make some good points. I think thats why I had to make a switch to You Are Your Own Gym for a bit, as the progress was plateauing from Convict Conditioning a bit. I also was getting bored with it for the time being. I’ll be getting back into it here in a few short weeks, once I’ve finished up this 10 week YAYOG program.

      I think the addition of a backpack full of weights has helped with that regard as well for my Pushup progressions. I dont really have the goal of doing a One-Arm Pushup as is the program in CC. I would much rather be able to do a Full Planche, and will be adjusting my routine accordingly when I’m finished.

      -B

Leave a Reply

