28th of December, 2012 — Workout — Wide Grip Pushups ( Elevated feet ), Military Press, Close Grip Pushups & Dips

WWWWWWWWWWWWWWHATS happening today convicts?! Ready to get your workout on!

I know, I know, today’s supposed to be a rest day, but I’m itching to get some Pushups in! It’s been since Monday or was it Sunday? I dont know, but its been far too long to go without doing some Pushups. I’m going to see if I can ‘hurt’ myself with todays workout. I’m going to be using a backpack full of books to see how much more brutal I can be MMUUAHAHAHAHA.

I’m all hopped up on my Pre-workout drink at the moment, I took two scoops today just because I’m bored and want to see if it’ll do anything different for me. I normally take Half – One scoop, but today I said ‘Ah what the hell’ might as well see what it’ll do. It’s only been ~ five minutes since I’ve taken it, and I’m already getting that scratchy crack-head type feeling in my face! haha

YOU’D BETTER NOT BE SLACKING TODAY DAMMIT – ITS A GREAT DAY TO PUSH YOURSELF – YOU CAN HEAL DURING THE WEEKEND!!

I’m not too positive on the actual weight of the books in the bag, as I dont have my scale down at this apartment. I left it up at my other one when I was moving all my stuff here unfortunately. I may pick up another here soon, but I honestly like taking measurements and seeing progress that way than actual Mass. It seems to be more of an accurate indicator for me and my goals, as the scale fluctuates so much from the water difference.

I’ve been studying like a mad man for the past couple days, and man I love this stuff! Super interesting to me. I finished up the Exercise Physiology text’s yesterday finally, and started on the Nutrition text today. The body’s pretty crazy I’ll have to say, and there’s a lot of misinformation out there. Thats why I urge any of you to research, research, research anything thoroughly before you begin any new fitness related endeavor’s. But, there’s a certain point where you may be researching too much – Sometimes you just need to get out there and do it! Just make sure you’re forms perfect and you’ll progress towards your goals. I’m not exactly sure how to put it into words, but I know I’ve caught myself researching something for a long time, the downside is I’ll get so into it, that I’ll lose focus – I’m not going to be a top tier powerlifter, so dont focus so much on little nuances of diet and timing – dont get me wrong, its still important – but actually going out there and doing work is going to be more beneficial than sitting in the library reading up on the most efficient, for lack of a better term, methods. Make sense?

Granted, having more knowledge on a subject can never hurt, but do you understand what I’m saying? Follow Nike’s advice and ‘Just Do It’. The more you get into it, thats the time to refine your techniques, and timings, and all the fun stuff that top tier’d athletes need to focus on. If you don’t have the time, but you’ve the passion for it, maybe consider hiring a personal trainer. They’re people like me, who’re absolutely obsessed with fitness and optimization and will / have spent the house hours researching.

Hot damn, OK, I’ve rambled enough, time to follow my own advice – LETS DO THIS!

Its another Interval Set training day. I’m going to see if I can max out at the six – eight rep range. I’m hoping the addition of the books on my back will be able to facilitate that.

First set was pretty easy, but around the seventh rep of the second set, it was getting hard. I like when I can’t complete the 12 rep goal – well when thats my goal for the day’s workout at least. Could definitely feel it on that third set – Hot damn, burn baby burn.

Military Presses dont seem to have much added difficulty with the two sets that I’ve completed already. I may elevate my feet for them when I’m back to this routine on Monday.They’re kind of weird to do with the backpack also, I may invest in an actual weighted vest. The backpack slips up to the back of my head while performing these – kind of a weird feeling in my neck.

I know these Close Grip Pushups are going to put a hurt on the ol’ Triceps though – Especially after I get to the Dips! Was able to crank out 12 reps for the first set, but I know I wont be getting that again today. Was a battle to maintain proper form to get to 12.

DIPS KICKED MY ASS! – Nuff said

-B

Wide Grip Pushups ( Elevated Feet & Backpack full of books )

Set 1:

  • 12 Wide Grip Pushups

Set 2:

  • 11 Wide Grip Pushups

Set 3:

  • 10 Wide Grip Pushups

___________________________________________________________________

Military Press ( With backpack full of books )

Set 1:

  • 12 Military Presses

Set 2:

  • 12 Military Presses

Set 3:

  • 12 Military Presses

__________________________________________________

Close Grip Pushups ( With backpack full of books )

Set 1:

  • 12 Close Grip Pushups

Set 2:

  • 10 Close Grip Pushups

Set 3:

  • 9 Close Grip Pushups

_________________________________________________________

Dips ( With backpack full of books )

Set 1:

  • 6 Dips

Set 2:

  • 6 Dips

Set 3:

  • 7 Dips ( No backpack full of books )

 

3 thoughts on “28th of December, 2012 — Workout — Wide Grip Pushups ( Elevated feet ), Military Press, Close Grip Pushups & Dips

  1. Hi B,

    I’m going to be giving this a go as soon as I can, looks fun.

    I don’t suppose during all of your research you have come across how to gain mass with a high metabolism? I’m 32 now so it should start slowing down soon, but I have always had this issue and it still a pain when I only want to gain just a bit more. For as long as I can remember I have been 9 stone dead, no matter how much or how little I eat I can never gain. So have you got any words of wisdom for me B? Any guidance would be appreciated.

    All the best,

    AL

    • Hey Alex,

      I too suffer from an obnoxiously high metabolism. I can’t stand it sometimes, but I know I have to keep it trained well as i don’t want it to die!

      I know for me, I can cut weight like its my job, but I’ve recently started my mass gaining diet again. Honestly the only real way to gain is to eat – and I mean LOTS. Plus, you’ve to keep that going for months so your body will adjust accordingly. But I mean, dont just eat and do nothing, because I’m assuming you dont want gain fat!

      What are your goals as far as gaining, apart from the obvious of lean muscle mass? Do you’ve an ideal weight you’d like to get to? However you go about it, I highly recommend recording your daily intakes, just to make sure you’re actually hitting all your macro goals. As I’ve mentioned, you’ll also need to make sure you’re working out so that your body will use the excess nutrients to build the muscle instead of breaking it down and storing as fat.

      Check out MyFitnessPal – it’s what I use to log all my food intake, so I can know for sure if I’m hitting my goals. Mine –> http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/frankturtle

      If you dont want to read all of that, read this:
      1. Eat a LOT, and consistently
      2. Use a routine that has you maxing out reps in the 8-12 range
      3. Be consistent!!

      -B

    • Hey Alex,

      Some other ‘tips’ I though of are the grazing style for eating. It’s super hard for me to eat as much as I do, but I keep the meals short and small ( except breakfast! ). I’ve an alarm set on my calendar for every 2 hours and I snack on something.

      I’ll have a protein shake, almonds, hummus, veggies, but I have to keep it constant, and have the constant reminders, because I usually wont want to eat. Its especially hard in the beginning, but as time goes on and your body become accustomed to the increased calories you’ll adjust.

      -B

Leave a Reply

