27th of December, 2012 — Workout — Hanging Straight Leg Raises, Supermans, Bicycles & Hyperextensions

Time to beat up on the ol’ core muscles today.

I was going over the workouts for the day, and just wanted to note for the Supermans, there’s a three second pause at the top! Should make them so much more fun right?

Also not that today’s workouts are still Interval Sets. Two weeks of doing this style, I’m not sure if I like it more or not. Maybe its about equal to Ladder Sets, just in a different burn and all. Either way, as long as I’m working out I’m happy.

Freaking Supermans sure know how to work out the lower back like a champ! That last set made me shake and sweat like a mad man. Onto the Bicycles!

Havent dont a ‘traditional’ styled ab workout in awhile. Been doing the Hanging routines from Convict Conditioning for months now – Kind of felt good! I’m going to slow them down for the second and third set though, because I didnt even feel any sort of burn with the first set. I mean, I didnt just rush through them, I was focused and maintained good form throughout, just didnt do much for me I suppose. I think that if I slow them down, then I’ll get at least a little burn? Seemed to do it a bit. Not nearly as intense of a burn as the Hanging ab workouts, but I was able to get to the point of some sort of fatigue / burn doing them with a three – four second count.

Just like with the Supermans, I went back and checked out the description of the Hyperextensions, and it turns out that I was actually doing Supermans last week instead of the Hyperextensions! Oops. Ah well, essentially the same thing, but with the Hyperextensions described in You Are Your Own Gym, you’re supposed to put a blanket or a pillow under your abdomen as kind of a fulcrum. I may actually start using my Bosu Ball to do these guys next week. Regardless, using the towel, or whatever, these things shred your lower back – in a good way. I’m so happy I only have one more set of them, because I wasn’t so kind to my lower back growing up working on a farm. Never followed the advice of ‘ Lift with your legs ‘. Should make shoveling the driveway later super fun! haha

Well, kicked my own ass again today. Nothing like that feeling of complete exhaustion after a workout to know you’ve put in good work for the day – You guys’d better not let the little whiner creep up and convince you somehow to not put in a days workout!

If you’re struggling with motivation, drop me a line and I’ll get you back into gear!

-B

Hanging Straight Leg Raises

Set 1: 

  • 10 Hanging Straight Leg Raises

Set 2:

  • 10 Hanging Straight Leg Raises

Set 3:

  • 10 Hanging Straight Leg Raises

_____________________________________

Supermans

Set 1:

  • 12 Supermans

Set 2:

  • 12 Supermans

Set 3:

  • 10 Supermans

___________________________________

Bicycles

Set 1:

  • 12 Bicycles

Set 2:

  • 12 Bicycles

Set 3:

  • 12 Bicycles

___________________________________

Hyperextensions

Set 1:

  • 12 Hyperextensions

Set 2:

  • 12 Hyperextensions

Set 3:

  • 10 Hyperextensions

 

Leave a Reply

