12th of December, 2012 — Workout — Pushups, Full Pullups, Military Press & Let Me In’s

I’m still sore as all hell, so hoping today’s workout will go well! It’s basically Round II for the You Are Your Own Gym 1st Class Program. Again today’s workout is going to be using the Ladder routine.

For the Pullups I implemented the 30s rest time between each set again. I really like the pump I get from it, and even though I only increase by one rep from last time, its still progress – keeps the up!

-B

Pushups:

  • 1 Military Pushup
  • 2 Military Pushups
  • 3 Military Pushups
  • 4 Military Pushups
  • 5 Military Pushups
  • 6 Military Pushups
  • 7 Military Pushups
  • 8 Military Pushups
  • 7 Military Pushups
  • 6 Military Pushups
  • 5 Military Pushups
  • 4 Military Pushups
  • 3 Military Pushups
  • 2 Military Pushups
  • 1 Military Pushup
  • 1 Wide Grip Pushup
  • 2 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 3 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 4 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 5 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 4 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 3 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 2 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 1 Wide Grip Pushup
  • 1 Regular Pushup
  • 2 Regular Pushups
  • 3 Regular Pushups

______________________________________

Warmup: Super and Wide Grip Pullups

  • 11 Super Wide Grip Pullups
  • 7 Wide Grip Pullups

Set 1: Full Pullups

  • 5 Full Pullups

Set 2:

  • 4 Full Pullups

Set 3:

  • 4 Full Pullups

__________________________

Military Press:

  • 1 Military Press
  • 2 Military Presses
  • 3 Military Presses
  • 4 Military Presses
  • 5 Military Presses
  • 6 Military Presses
  • 7 Military Presses
  • 8 Military Presses
  • 7 Military Presses
  • 6 Military Presses
  • 5 Military Presses
  • 4 Military Presses
  • 3 Military Presses
  • 2 Military Presses
  • 1 Military Press
  • 1 Military Press
  • 2 Military Presses

____________________________

Let Me In’s:

  • 1 Let Me In
  • 2 Let Me In’s
  • 3 Let Me In’s
  • 4 Let Me In’s
  • 5 Let Me In’s
  • 6 Let Me In’s
  • 7 Let Me In’s
  • 8 Let Me In’s
  • 9 Let Me In’s
  • 8 Let Me In’s
  • 7 Let Me In’s
  • 6 Let Me In’s
  • 5 Let Me In’s
4 thoughts on “12th of December, 2012 — Workout — Pushups, Full Pullups, Military Press & Let Me In’s

  1. -b. I just came across your blog and it’s what I’ve been looking for. Can someone follow these daily workouts, or do I need to go back and start at a sooner point?

    • Hey Brian,

      Thanks for the inspiration to keep going my friend! You say this is what you’ve been looking for, what do you mean by that? Are you looking for motivation, or are you looking for some instruction / routine’s?

      I’m assuming you’re either a fan already, or just getting into calisthenics. I love doing them.

      As for your question – YES, you can absolutely follow my workouts. If you’re just starting out, I can give you some better information on how you might want to begin though.

      Let me know holmes, and keep dropping by with updates, I always like hearing about other’s progress / accomplishments.

      -B

  2. Well, the routines are really motivating for me actually. I’m the kind of person that needs a plan, other wise I feel like I am just wasting my time. The issue is that I am extremely time crunched and I have never enjoyed weight lifting or the gym life (my background is all running\cycling).

    I’m looking for an overall plan with more “real world” type movements. This summer I cut\split\stacked about 12 cords of wood and I was feeling pretty good. Now, winter is coming on and I can feel things slipping away. I’m looking for something I can do around the house. Family time is so precious, I would feel guilty driving to the gym etc. I have 30-45 minutes a night where I’d like to fit an intense, structured work out into and your blog and workouts seem very organized.

    I have a good area in my basement with a pull up bar and plenty of room. I’m about 6′ and 180lbs right now. I would be much happier getting back down to 170 like I was this summer.

    Where do you think I should start?

    Thanks!

    • Hey o’ Brian,

      Apologize for the delay, I’ve been busy my friend. I completely agree with you not enjoying the Gym much, and the desire to workout for practicality instead of just aesthetics – although, we all like to look ‘good’ as well. The practicality of calisthenics paves the way to become aesthetically pleasing, with proper discipline and nutrition.

      ANYWAY – Here’s some suggestions for Strength Work:

      You said you’re crunched for time, so this routine is ~ 30-45 Mins, three days a week, with one day’s rest between each workout day.

      If you’ve the time I’d highly recommend warming up with this:
      http://phraktured.net/molding-mobility.html
      Or at least some of them just to get the blood flowing. I personally only really do the arm circles and shoulder / tricep stretches when doing upper body work, or swing kick type of warmups when I’m working out the lower half.
      _________________________________________
      Each workout follows this format – 3 Sets of 5-8 reps

      Take as much rest time between sets as needed to complete the 5-8 reps.

      1. Wall Handstand Practice
      2. Horizontal Pull: http://youtu.be/DJ9pakBKG5s or http://youtu.be/QRoCPqHG8ok
      3. Some sort of Pushup ( Check my routines for suggestions & progressions)
      4. Some sort of Pullup ( Can start with Negatives if you can’t complete a full one )
      5. A Dip: http://youtu.be/GBwVEqsl-FE or http://youtu.be/c3ZGl4pAwZ4?t=52s
      6. Legs: http://youtu.be/PegQw3wFKgI or Some of the progressions from my Routines

      Again, this is all just starting, and you may need to split them into two day segments. If so try to keep major muscles grouped, so you’re not working the same one’s the next day. **REST is just as important if not more **

      I feel its super important to keep a log so you can see your progression. It definitely helps keep me motivated, because its not fun if you’re not progressing. Gives me something to look forward to!

      Drop me a line with any questions my friend – and Keep me updated on your progress as these are just beginner steps. I’ll try and guide you as to what you can do to keep progressing.

      STAY STRONG CONVICT!
      -B

Leave a Reply

