10th of September, 2012 — Workout — Half Pullups & Half One-Leg Squats

Decided to try to shoot for 10 rounds of the Jump Rope today, but my right wrist just couldnt take it today. I started getting sloppy and kept catching my feet. Eight rounds is pretty solid amount though I’d have to say. Was a bit windy today, which adds to the fun of jumping rope 🙂

Had to cut the Squats down a set, my right knee is still hurting a bit. The bruise goes from the middle of my shin to the middle of my quad. Pretty gnarly colors and such. I’m thinking another week or two and I’ll be rockin’ it at 100%. I’d say I’m about 90% at the moment, also noticed some slight abdominal pains while doing the Close Squats. Kind of weird because my abs are not used much – more for stabilizing I’d say.

Either way, was nice to get a good set of Pullups in. I did a quick measurement of my chest today, and my Lat’s must be getting bigger because they’ve gone up a little bit from my last measurement. Was a bit bummed I couldnt get 12 reps for both sets of the warmup ( Wide Grip Pullups ) today though. I figured it was going to be a bit of a struggle after that first set. I was honestly surprised to be able to get the full 12 reps for all three working sets of Half Pullups. Nice feeling. I still want to get the timing down a bit better with the Half Pullups, because I feel as though I’m rushing them a bit to get all 12 reps. Sometimes my body sway’s a bit too much for my liking. Alas, it’s my first day back to them in over a week though, so I can’t be complaining too much!

Happy overall with what was accomplished today – with the circumstances. Man I missed working out though! I was going crazy, my poor girlfriend had to listen to me whining about it – true to her nature, she said she had “ZERO pity” on me, which is understandable. A very valuable lesson I learned this year.

What was your favorite part of your workout today?
Do you feel as though you pushed yourself hard enough?

Sets 1-8: Jump Rope

  • 3 Min Jump Rope

_______________________

Warmup: Wide Grip Pullups

  • 12 Wide Grip Pullups
  • 10 Wide Grip Pullups

Set 1: Half Pullups

  • 12 Half Pulls

Set 2:

  • 12 Half Pulls

Set 3:

  • 12 Half Pulls

______________________

Warmup: Close & Uneven Squats

  • 12 Close Squats
  • 12 Uneven Squats ( Left )
  • 12 Uneven Squats ( Right )

Set 1: Half One-Leg Squats

  • 6 Half One-Leg Squats ( Left )
  • 6 Half One-Leg Squats ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 7 Half One-Leg Squats ( Left )
  • 7 Half One-Leg Squats ( Right )
Leave a Reply

