7th of September, 2012 — Workout — Pushups & Hanging Frog Raises

HOLY CRAP HAVE I MISSED YOU CONVICTS – SUPER MOTIVATED TODAY!! My body’s not completely healed, still some knee & quad issues, but my mind’s been going crazy for working out. I trust you guys haven’t been slacking in my absence … right?! If so, today’s the last day for that!

As I just mentioned, my leg’s are still a bit screwy, so I had to wear my knee brace, and take it a lot slower than normal for my Jump Rope warmups. Nonetheless, I still cranked out an excellent workout today.

After the first set of Hanging Knee Raises, I was a bit skeptical if my lower obliques kinda got pinched by the seat belt during my excitement last week. Thankfully, the workouts today didnt work them too intensely, actually hardly at all. Either way, like I was saying, the first set of the Hanging Knee Raises made my abs burn much more than I had expected. I anticipated a bit of struggle for the workout today as its been a week since I’ve done anything intense. I did a few things during the week just to test the waters out, but today I felt as though I would be able to crank out a decent workout. All should be OK for starting back with the routine next week starting Monday.

As for the Pushups, nothing too crazy with those today. The combo of hanging for the abdominal workouts & the seat belt ( saving my life ) burns on my shoulder put a bit of a strain on it, so I didnt go for the normal routine. Just wanted to get 12 solid reps of various exercises, to get my body used to it again. Still pushed myself to a decent pump today. A little side note on the MAX Regular Pushups, I had tried to MAX out earlier in the week. I havent done my MAX reps since I’ve started doing Convict Conditioning, and I wanted to do a little workout without pushing myself too much – figured doing one set of MAX reps would be fun, and I wanted to see how much I’ve improved since my p90X days. I was able to crank out 55 Regular Pushups before my form started getting sloppy, so I was pretty happy with that I suppose – Not too shabby for training for strength / size gains instead of endurance as I had prior.

P.S. Dave my friend, don’t fret buddy I’ll get to those questions you asked on some of my other posts!

How’s your workouts been going?
Whats giving you motivation this week?
Likewise, is there anything that you feel is holding you back?

Sets 1-6: Jump Rope

  • 3 Min Jump Rope

__________________________

Warmup: Decline Wide Grip Pushups & Decline “Planche” Pushups

  • 12 Decline Wide Grip Pushups
  • 12 Decline “Planche” Pushups

Set 1: Decline Close Pushups

  • 12 Decline Close Pushups

Set 2: Uneven Pushups

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )

Set 3: Regular Pushups ( MAX reps )

  • 36 Regular Pushups

_______________________________

Warmup: Hanging Knee & Hanging Bent Leg Raises

  • 12 Hanging Knee Raises
  • 12 Hanging Bent Leg Raises

Set 1: Hanging Frog Raises

  • 12 Hanging Frog Raises

Set 2: 

  • 12 Hanging Frog Raises

Set 3:

  • 12 Hanging Frog Raises
3 thoughts on “7th of September, 2012 — Workout — Pushups & Hanging Frog Raises

  1. Hi Big B (Frank?), glad to hear you are back in the saddle and easing your way back into CC. I’m sure you will be steaming ahead in a few weeks again with your progress. I suppose you could think positively about it that maybe without the CC you would have been weaker during the crash and even more injured so thank god it’s not the case.

    I’m well and happy with my CC progress as well as the eating cleanly seems to be dropping the fat off me. You may be disappointed to hear but I have slightly gone against the ethos of CC and bought a small dumbbell set!

    As you gathered from my previous comments I was getting a bit worried that CC wasn’t giving me the muscle increases I have started to get an interest in (call me shallow :-)) so now when I finish my CC and only after I finish my CC I do some dumbbell exercises for hypertrophy if I feel that CC didn’t offer it. It’s not a full dumbbell routine but just focusing on arms and shoulders which for me are small and I don’t do the dumbbells if I feel that it will reduce my progress in CC. This allows me to follow CC to the letter and not reduce the reps but still allows me to add the muscle where I am lacking. Only been doing it for a week so will I see how I get on and maybe at later stages I wont need them.

    It’s good that your back

    David

    p.s. My current progress is Squat step 4, Pushup step 3 (tough at 3×10), Leg Raise step 3, Pullup step 2 (getting there at sternum now 3×26 so far),

    • David my friend! No way I’d be disappointed with the purchase of dumbbell’s, as long as its what you like, and as long as it will keep you motivated then I’m all for it 🙂 And don’t worry about wanting to gain muscle, you’re not shallow, well I honestly don’t know you that well, but I don’t know any guy who’s working out and doesn’t want to put on some muscle to boost your self image, and therefore make you feel better and more confident.

      I’m just glad you’re sticking with bettering yourself. No greater gift you can give yourself that do what makes you feel better. I will be the first to admit, aside from absolutely loving working out, I definitely do it for the aesthetics, as well as strength gains.

      Hot damn brotha, you’re rocking 3×26 Horizontal Pulls?! Thats awesome man, props to ya on that. I remember the first time I did those damn’d things. I honestly almost skipped that step after deciding to dedicate myself to CC. I distinctly remember thinking, ‘oh those look super easy, and I can already do regular Full Pullups, so I’m going to skip them.’ I’m not sure what made me decide to start with them, but damn did they kick my ass the first time! Checking back to my log’s I ran into this post:

      https://convictworkout.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/overestimated-my-pullup-strength/

      Makes me kind of chuckle a little bit – thought I was too bad-A to start out. Lesson learned pretty quickly, leave your ego at the door when you’re going to workout!

      Anyway, glad to see you’re getting into your own routine and groove my friend. Again, as long as you keep up your motivation and don’t ever quit – EVER!!! – then the sky’s the limit. I know I use this too often, I suppose its become a mantra of mine, but remember ‘ There are no Limits, only Plateaus’

      -B

Leave a Reply

