25th of July, 2012 — Workout — Pullups, Pushups & Squats

Starting things off with one my favorites Jump Rope! It’s such an amazing way to warmup the entire body, and plus I dislike running!

Doing the Pullups & Squats together because I don’t want to be working out ’til 8:30 again.

HOLY CRAP! These Jackknife Pulls are beating me up today. With not having done these bad boys in a bit definitely takes it toll on you. Goes back to what I was saying yesterday about being consistent. I’m hoping I can get this last set of 12, but I was really struggling on the last three of the second set.

On the Squat side though, I’m very happy I can get these consistently this time. My balance has improved from the last time I’ve done them. Still a bit sketchy on the right leg, but that’s always been a bit tight since I broke that ankle when I was younger.

Well I got the three sets of 12 reps finally, although I don’t feel as though it’s as legit as I want it. I got a phone call during my rest time so I had a little extra time to recover – Thinking that’s the only reason I was able to accomplish that. I’m going to give them another week of 12 reps before I move onto the next series as I don’t like how it was accomplished. Still feels good to get them done, but like I said, just doesn’t feel right.

Let me tell you what, on the last set of Uneven Squats ~ rep seven +, things got rough. Whole body shakes, but gnar dog strength / muscle building reps those were.

Finishing things up with my favorite workout ever – some good ol’ fashioned Pushups! I’m going to try to stay focused on keeping ~ 80% of my weight over the arm over the ball with the Uneven Pushups. Thanks to an article by my friend and follower Dave – which ‘Coach’ Wade states this is the most common error with the Uneven Pushups.

Dave, man Internet High Five you bro! Great article, and excellent change. Having the majority of my weight over the ball makes my stabilizer muscles work that much harder. I can see now why this is the recommended way to do them as it works the muscles that much harder in preparation for the Master Step.That totally shredded my pec’s. I know not having done them in a bit doesn’t help, but there’s a profound difference in the feeling I get doing them this way. For those interested the article is –> HERE

Second set wasn’t any better, I can feel the fatigue setting in – I know I can get these last 24 reps though. My body’s telling me NO WAY JOSE, but I control my body – I tell it when It’s had enough – Never sent limits. As Mr. Lee puts it:

If you put limits on what you can do, physically or anything else, it’ll spread over into the rest of your life. It’ll spread over into your mortality, into your entire being. There are no limits. There are plateaus, but you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. If it kills you, it kills you. A man must constantly exceed his level.

-B

Sets 1-6: Jump Rope

  • 3 min

_____________________

Warmup: Horizontal Pulls

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls
  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

Set 1: Jackknife Pulls

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

Set 2:

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

Set 3:

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

_____________

Warmup: Close Squats

  • 12 Close Squats
  • 12 Close Squats

Set 1: Uneven Squats

  • 7 Uneven Squats ( Left )
  • 7 Uneven Squats ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 8 Uneven Squats ( Left )
  • 8 Uneven Squats ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 9 Uneven Squats ( Left )
  • 9 Uneven Squats ( Right )

_____________________

Warmup: Full Pushups

  • 12 Full Pushups
  • 12 Full Pushups

Set 1: Uneven Pushups

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )

Set 2:

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )

Set 3:

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )
Leave a Reply

