12th of July, 2012 — Workout — Pullups & Pushups

AMERICA – FK YEAH!! ( Sorry international viewers! )

Just celebrating a come from behind win with our softball team. Down 10-3 in the first inning =( Came back to win it with 23-14 ( not too positive on that, but its close ).

Anyway … back to the workout today. Feeling pumped after that win so today’s workout should be good. It’s some of my favorite workouts anyway. I’m hoping that I can get three sets of 12 on these damn’d Jackknife Pulls though! Wish me luck!!

I’ve some time to workout this time, so instead of doing other workouts during my 120s rest’s I’m going to shadow box / Jump rope. Man I love shadow boxing.f

With these Jackknife Pulls, I’m focusing on keeping my arms wide a bit – I want to hit my Lat’s more than my Biceps. I want my Lat’s proportionate to Mr. Bruce Lee’s. It’s quite an ambitious goal because that lil bastard was ripped. But he was also ~50-60lbs lighter than me haha. Nonetheless, I’ll just keep at it because those One-Arm Pullups are pretty manly. I’ll get there, as long as I don’t quit.

Hot Damn, that second set got pretty rough there the last 4 reps. I had a tough time keeping my arms past my shoulder’s and they twisted naturally into more of an actual Pullup motion ( palms facing me ). Either way, I’m for sure getting this damn’d 12 reps on the last set! I’m determined ( as long as my form is maintained throughout ). No reason to do it wrong, there’s always the next time.

HELL YEAH BRO! ( last three reps were full blown Pullups, but I’ll take it – always room for improvement ). I wish you guys could be here with me, as well as I with you. Completing little personal victories is such a satisfying feeling. Onto Pushups.

With these Wide Grip Pushups I’m actually using a four-down four-up count. Makes them much more intense and I feel as though it hits my pec’s so much harder with the added time.

Nothing like a good ol’ fashioned Pushup to get the evening going. I love doing these damnd things. After that first set of Uneven’s though, I might have to change my mind on that. Those bad boys were burning like hell on the last four reps on each side. Especially the side with the basketball under. Gonna keep at it though, I’m not quitter. Almost positive I won’t be able to get 12 reps / side for the last two sets though. We’ll see.

Made it though the second set ( barely, started shaking so bad on the seventh rep of the second side! ). I’m going to try to crank out these last 24, I’m going to have to dig deep b/c I feel really nauseous.

Man, what a night for accomplishments. Last set – Must’ve got my second wind – wasn’t easy that’s for sure, as soon as I switched to the other side I knew I was going to get it. Almost didnt make it on the last rep though! Had to use every ounce of strength I had left to maintain my form and push my exhausted body up. Feels good though 🙂

Warmup: Horizontal Pulls

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls
  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

Set 1: Jackknife Pulls

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

Set 2:

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

Set 3:

  • 12 Jackknife Pulls

_____________________

Warmup: Wide Grip Pushups

  • 12 Wide Grip Pushups
  • 12 Wide Grip Pushups

Set 1: Uneven Pushups

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )

Set 2:

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )

Set 3:

  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Right )
  • 12 Uneven Pushups ( Left )

 

Leave a Reply

