11th of July, 2012 — Workout — HSPU, Leg Raises, & Squats

Well Hola all you crazy calisthenics freaks. Hope you’re all doing well today. Gonna be a good day for working out 🙂

Haven’t done any of the HSPU series in a bit, think I’ll get some of those down today. Starting things off with some Wall Handstands. Did a few Crow Stands just to get the wrists warmed up a bit.

While I”m doing the HSPU series, I’m also going to be doing the Leg Raise series during my rest time’s.

Man the balance for doing those HSPU’s is so hard for me to get at the moment. At most I can only hold it out for 5s before I fall into the wall though. I definitely need to train it more if I want to be able to do Handstands.

The Leg Raise series I’m currently at ( Hanging Knee Raises ) is getting easier and easier every time I do them. I’m thinking about doing a few more rounds of it before I move onto the next group. That means that I’m almost done with them! Woot.

I can definitely notice a strengthening of my knee’s from all these exercises strengthening the joints. I notice I don’t have nearly as much ache’s in them in the morning or after I play softball. It’s nice actually! Although I do feel it in my left knee still occasionally, it’s getting less and less frequent. More anecdotal evidence of the power of calisthenics 🙂

Overall an excellent workout here today. Only thing, I need to get back to my consistency. I think once Softball is finished up here I’ll be able to get back to my regular routine – Although I’m still progressing so that makes me happy 🙂

Hope you’re all being consistent, and at the very least not quitting. There was a great quote I heard the other day ( I’ve probably posted this before, but it’s just so inspiring to me! ):

“There are no limit’s, only Plateaus”

Leave me some comments on how you’re doing, or if you’re looking for some motivation. 

Warmup: Crow Stands

  • 10s Crow Stand
  • 20s Crow Stand
  • 40s Wall Handstand

Set 1: Wall Handstand

  • 35s Wall Handstand

Set 2:

  • 45s Wall Handstand

Set 3:

  • 45s Wall Handstand

_____________________

Warmup: Straight Leg Raises

  • 12 Straight Leg Raises
  • 12 Straight Leg Raises

Set 1: Hanging Knee Raises

  • 12 Hanging Knee Raises

Set 2:

  • 12 Hanging Knee Raises

Set 3:

  • 12 Hanging Knee Raises

______________________

Warmup: Full Squats ( With Backpack full of 62lbs )

  • 12 Full Squats
  • 12 Full Squats

Set 1: Close Squats ( With Backpack full of 62lbs )

  • 12 Close Squats

Set 2: 

  • 12 Close Squats

Set 3:

  • 12 Close Squats
8 thoughts on “11th of July, 2012 — Workout — HSPU, Leg Raises, & Squats

  1. Hi, I am just finishing step 1 in the first 4 exercises this week then onto step 2s next week. Im not looking forward to horizontal pull ups as I heard some people can be on them for months! Must make sure I keep to the 45 degree angle finishing though as anything less than that will make it even harder I think.

    • Hey David,

      Horizontal Pulls are not too bad actually. I was on them for a few weeks, but that was before I changed up my Rep count. As per some of my previous posts, and some research in the calisthenics community, the actual rep count listed in CC is more for endurance. Although, it will help you gain strength, there’s a tipping point for the muscle where it becomes more of the endurance training.

      From what I’ve found in my research, and from other calisthenics enthusiasts, the magic number ( for strength gains ) is having the exercise max out at 8-12 reps.

      Don’t be afraid of the Horizontal pulls though man, they’re an excellent transition into the much harder pull up series, if you’ve never really focused on them or trained them.

      -B

  2. Hi Frank, just a further few questions if you could indulge me. As I said above I am very near the start in all of this and I am really enjoying the progressions. I was just wondering from an aesthetic point of view (allow me to be a bit shallow :-)) did you notice any differences since you started or maybe you were pretty well built to begin with? Strength is my aim but it would be nice to hear of any other good side consequences of the exercises like if your body fat reduced or you maybe began to see a six pack etc. Or do envisage these possible changes happening later on in the steps maybe if you are quite slim to begin with?

    Cheers

    • Hey David,

      No worries my friend – It’s the whole reason I started this blog! I want to help others gain knowledge and motivation from not only Convict Conditioning, but from calisthenics in general.

      As for what I’ve noticed – My arm’s ( more specifically my Triceps ) have gotten the biggest improvements aesthetically. I’ve also had quite a few inch increase in the size of my thighs. I haven’t done any measurements in awhile, but that’s one thing that keeps me motivated is seeing any progress.

      My chest has also increased in size, albeit small, and its more my Lats than my actual Pectorals – there is some gain though. The progressions of the CC Push up series is more for the Triceps though ( doing the military style push ups with the arms close ). I’ve been trying to mix it up a bit though for my warm up’s to get the wide grip push ups to hit more of my Pecs though.

      Not so much the 6-pack as those are mainly formed in the kitchen. My diet’s always been pretty solid, but for the past few months I’ve been on a mass gaining diet so my BF % has increased a bit.

      Here’s what I was at before http://imgur.com/a/h4bvR ( ~ 8% – 11% ), but I’m hovering around ~ 13% – 16% depending on the day’s now.

      Overall though, you won’t really notice for a bit, that is unless you’re starting off with a low BF % and no muscle mass. The gain’s will for sure become visible. I would highly recommend recording measurements though. It keeps me motivated! I can notice the strength increase though, also from keeping track of all my reps with them graphed, but I’m a numbers guy.

      -B

      • Hi again.

        Thank you for your detailed response. It’s great to get feedback from someone a few steps in front of me. It was also great to see your increased measurements today too. Congrats!

        Cheers

      • Thanks man 🙂 I was pleasantly surprised as well. It was nice to see progress all across the board.

        Keep at it holmes, and if you’re feeling discouraged check back in and I’ll get you motivated again!

        -B

  3. Hi B,
    being a Physiotherapist, as far as I see the program you should recognize “massive” chestdevelopment the closer you get to stage 10 of the pushup-series. I think before that it is more military-style to develop enough arm-strength for the big goal one-handed pushups. As soon as you reach them your Pectorals are dealing with heavy load. 🙂
    Great blog, by the way. It is much appreciated although this is my first comment.
    K

    • Hey Klaus,

      Thank you so much for the information! I’m just going on my own anecdotal evidence and research that I’ve done.

      It’s going to take some time, for sure, but I will eventually get to the one-handed pushups. It’s good to know that all of my logging and commentary are being appreciated by someone. It always helps with my motivation, although I don’t struggle with that too much.

      Quick questions, if you don’t mind – do the Wide Grip Pushups develop the pec’s more than the regular military styled? It seems like it does because my triceps hardly ever burn when I do.

      -B

Leave a Reply

