28th May, 2012 — Workout — HSPU / Bridge / Pullup / Squat’s

I didn’t quite get to my workouts so well this weekend, although I did bike the Erie Canal on Saturday for a few hours which was nice!

Today I’m going to be doing a combination of the Hand Stand Pushup routine along with my normal scheduled workouts for the day ( Horizontal Pulls & Squats )

Starting with some Wall Headstands. I am trying to hold them without my feet touching the wall for the entire length of the set. First set was a success, although I had to touch them briefly so I could check the time. For the second set I’m going to just use a countdown time so I don’t have to check.

Not having done these in over a week, definitely noticeable with my shoulders, after the first minute for each set they were burning like crazy.

During the Crow Stands, I only took 30 second breaks between each because they weren’t too troublesome on me. During the second set though, my foot touched the ground — thankfully I had the timer going so I could just restart the set without too much trouble. I try to improve every time I do a set! The last set I couldn’t see my timer, so I just stopped when it was getting bothersome for my wrists, and I ended up with 42 Seconds – I’ll take it 🙂 Onto Bridges

I like doing the Short Bridges for a warmup, it’s a very low-impact way to loosen up and warmup my spine. Only thing I’m going to do different for next time is not do these in the lawn day after its been mowed! The bugs are all over the place, not to mention all the grass I’m getting on myself haha.

Following again with the 120 second rest time between the sets. The Straight Bridges were feeling good today. I learned from my last time with them, to do a bit of stretching beforehand because they put a weird pinch or something on the nerves in my bicep resulting in my arm going numb partially. Thankfully the stretching beforehand seemed to remedy the situation.

FREAKING BUGS CREEPING UP ALL OVER MY DRINK WHILE IM WORKING OUT!! What I get for working out outside I suppose.

I can definitely feel it in my lower back after the second set in the Straight Bridges. Going to push through, stretch it a bit during my rest time and finish strong. I also noticed that in the book it says to start with the trunk of your body perpendicular to the legs. I can’t quite seem to get this while I’m outside, I mean I can start that way, but there’s no way for my feet to slide forward as they do in the book. Anything this would cause any issues with regards to progression and form?

Hot damn, if you check out the video, on my last rep of the last work set a kamikaze bug decided to bomb my right eye haha. On to the workout that’s actually scheduled for today!

ROUND II

As I did last time with the Horizontal Pulls & the Supported Squats, during the rest time’s I’m going to do the other exercise, starting with the Horizontal Pulls.

During the last few reps of the first set of Horizontal Pulls, I felt like I could get 11 reps, but after the tenth rep I figured my form would’ve gone south. Form is one of the most important factors in my workouts. How’s your form?

Started to run out of time and stamina towards the end. Although I wasn’t able to make all the reps for each set, I’d say it was still one hell of a workout today! Hope you all enjoyed your Memorial Day if you celebrate that kind of thing. Check back in a bit for the video!

Warmup: Wall Headstands

  • 120 Seconds
  • 120 Seconds

Set 1: Crow Stands

  • 20 Seconds

Set 2: 

  • 30 Seconds

Set 3:

  • 42 Seconds

________________________

Warmup: Short Bridges

  • 50 Short Bridges
  • 50 Short Bridges

Set 1: Straight Bridges

  • 20 Straight Bridges

Set 2:

  • 20 Straight Bridges

Set 3:

  • 22 Straight Bridges

________________________

ROUND II

________________________

Warmup: Horizontal Pulls

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls
  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

Set 1: Horizontal Pulls

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

Set 2:

  • 9 Horizontal Pulls

Set 3:

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

________________________

Warmup: Supported Squats

  • 20 Supported Squats
  • 20 Supported Squats

Set 1:

  • 25 Supported Squats

Set 2:

  • 30 Supported Squats

Set 3:

  • 40 Supported Squats