18th May, 2012 — Workout — Horizontal Pulls & Jackknife Squats

Not feeling particularly in the workout mood today, but I’m making myself. I always seem to feel better after, lets hope that trend holds up today. I’ve got my timer to try to keep a strict 120 second rest time between sets. The rest time between work sets will probably be a little longer though, but definitely under five.

I’m glad to finally get 20 Horizontal Pulls, but man these guys wear me out! I’m hoping I can get another set of 20, but I’m thinking I would have to sacrifice form to achieve it, and it’s not worth it. I’ll take my lower rep’s to maintain proper form until I’m capable.

My arms are so pumped up from doing these, getting a good workout today that’s for sure. I knew once I got into it, my mind would adjust itself into workout mode. You guys ever get that?

This last work set is going to test me. My arm’s are already full of lactic acid, and are screaming at me to stop.  Last set was brutal all I can say about it.

ROUND II

Lets kick some things off with Jackknife Squats. I need to focus on not raising my heels at any point. I was skimming the description in the book again, and I started doing this last time because it was straining my lower back.

They seem to not bother me today, I’m not sure if it’s the height of the chair, or if I’m just getting the form down a bit better, but these Jackknife Squats are cake today. I’m only going to be doing work set though this evening  – again a time constraint with prior engagements. Still a good workout overall I’d say.

OK I had typed that before those last two sets, man the last 15 in the set of 70 reps were making my quads shaky!

How was your workout today?!

Warmup: Horizontal Pulls

  • 10 Horizontal Pulls
  • 10 Horizontal Pulls

Set 1:

  • 20 Horizontal Pulls
  • 14 Horizontal Pulls

Set 2:

  • 17 Horizontal Pulls
  • 16 Horizontal Pulls

Set 3:

  • 16 Horizontal Pulls
  • 13 Horizontal Pulls

______________________

Warmup: Jackknife Squats

  • 10 Jackknife Squats
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
  • 20 Jackknife Squats

Set 1:

  • 50 Jackknife Squats
  • 60 Jackknife Squats
  • 70 Jackknife Squats
Leave a Reply

