15th May, 2012 — Workout — Pushups & Leg Raises

Finally some time to get a good workout in today, and its one of my favorites. Good old-fashioned Pushups and Leg Raises.

I don’t think I’ll quite make it to 20 Full Pushups for each work set yet, well not with proper form and rest time, so I’m sticking with the warmup of Half Pushups to begin.

I’ve an audience today, my little niece and nephew are running around asking me what I’m doing being crazy. Was cute to start, but now they’re just trying my patience! You guy know what I’m talking about, I need to keep my concentration and focus to maintain proper form.

It’s definitely a lot more challenging keeping the rest time down to a minimum. As one of my followers Neil pointed out, its important to keep it consistent and strict. The app I use to log all my workouts, thankfully has a built-in stopwatch making it much easier to keep consistent. I’ve been keeping a regular 120 second rest between sets. I usually go a little longer ( no set time ) between work sets so that I can try to get a full rep count in. Doesn’t work out most of the time yet, but as I keep gaining strength it will be easier. If you watch my last set you will catch a glimpse of my little niece walking by and sticking her little head in…little munchkins!!

I decided to switch it to a wider ‘grip’ for the last set of Pushups to isolate the chest a little more as my triceps and shoulders were burning! Time for some Leg Raises.

Round II

Fairly positive I can get all the reps for the Straight Leg Raise, only one way to find out! I decided to only take 30 second breaks between sets for the warmup because its only 25 total Straight Leg Raises.

Man, things are definitely getting brutal here, and its only the first work set! I’m going to have to just push myself, although I don’t feel as though I’ll be able to get all 20 reps for the rest of the set and a half unless I increase my rest time, which I don’t want to do. Hot damn these are brutal though with such little rest in between.

That last set in work set two took me out! I’m going to take a five-minute rest for the last work set to see if I can crank out the last 40 Straight Leg Raises.Got the first set, lets hope that 120 seconds will be sufficient for the last 20. Time to dig down and see what I’m made of!! 

Hot damn 21 to finish them off, good workout today … How was yours?!

Warmup: Half / Full Pushups

  • 25 Half Pushups
  • 25 Half Pushups
  • 5 Full Pushups

Set 1:

  • 20 Full Pushups
  • 17 Full Pushups

Set 2:

  • 17 Full Pushups
  • 16 Full Pushups

Set 3:

  • 15 Full Pushups
  • 16 Full Pushups

___________________

Warmup: Straight Leg Raises

  • 5 Straight Leg Raises
  • 10 Straight Leg Raises
  • 10 Straight Leg Raises

Set 1:

  • 20 Straight Leg Raises
  • 20 Straight Leg Raises

Set 2:

  • 20 Straight Leg Raises
  • 17 Straight Leg Raises

Set 3:

  • 20 Straight Leg Raises
  • 21 Straight Leg Raises
Leave a Reply

