4th May, 2012 — Workout — Shoulderstand Squats

While doing the warmup it noticed that there was a lot of pressure on my lower back. That’s the main reason I was only able to do 25 for the warmup. I’m not sure if its because of the bridges that I had done a few days ago or not. I’m thinking it’s just my form because in the book it states

Due to the inverse position of the body, there is virtually no weight going through the knees and lower back.”

I’m going to try and do this against a wall so as to keep my lower back straight, maybe that will help alleviate some of the discomfort. What are your guys thoughts? ( it didn’t do much! )

The last two sets of the warmup I focused solely on keeping my back straight throughout the entire rep, it seemed to definitely help with the lower back pressure, but strangely enough, it made my entire left arm from my elbow down go numb! Has anyone else experienced this?

Once I got into the Jackknife Squats all was alleviated with regards to my lower back pressure. These feel much more natural to what I’m used to. My quads started to get a little bit tired on the last set, which is completely understandable, but I was not even close to exhaustion coming up on the last set of 20, so I decided to push myself until things were getting rough. The last seven I had to keep focused in order to maintain the proper form, I started sweating so bad!

Warmup:

  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 25 Shoulderstand Squats
  • 10 Jackknife Squats
Set 1:
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
Set 2:
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
Set 3:
  • 20 Jackknife Squats
  • 40 Jackknife Squats
Leave a Reply

